Rachel Monk is an experienced private guitar and piano teacher based in Lowestoft, Suffolk. She is happy to help people just starting to play or those looking to improve their existing skills.

About Rachel

As a professional music teacher, I believe the key is getting to know the pupil so that I can tailor each lesson to their individual needs. This is an essential part of my work.

I trained at the University of Exeter, graduating with a BA Honours degree in Music in 1992. This included advanced studies in guitar performance, music theory, and extensive research into the history of Western music. I also hold Grade 8 in Guitar Duet.

Currently I am studying for a diploma in music teaching. I regularly attend professional development events for music teachers run by the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music. I am a registered “Music Medals” Assessor.

I am an experienced amateur performer of both classical guitar and double bass. As a guitarist I have performed in a variety of venues, including the St. Reatham Music Festival, London, Grey’s Court, Henley-on-Thames, Billesley Manor, Warwickshire; Lauderdale House, Inner Temple Hall, St Lawrence Jewry Church, and St Helen’s Bishopsgate Church, London.

As a double bass player I have performed regularly in St John’s Smith Square, London with the Kensington Symphony Orchestra. As a member of the British Police Symphony Orchestra, l have performed in major venues all over the country, including a regular annual engagement in Symphony Hall, Birmingham.

I started out as an information professional and diplomat for the British Government, and my work has taken me all over the world. During this time, I performed regularly in my spare time on both the guitar and double bass.

I love life as a private music teacher, partly because it doesn’t really feel like work, but mainly because it allows me to pass on the pleasure of playing music in public to other people. This depends largely on being able to communicate with an audience, no matter how small: I love encouraging my pupils towards this goal.

I am enjoying my new location of North East Derbyshire very much, having spent twenty years living and working in London.